Town of Luray, Virginia
PO Box 629 :: 45 East Main Street, Luray, VA 22835
Town Office: (540) 743-5511 :: West Main Bridge
Other Local Links
Festivals & Fairs
ABOUT THE TOWN OF LURAY
The Town of Luray is the county seat of Page County and is located near the geographical center of the county. Established on February 6, 1812 on ten acres of land, Luray is the oldest of the three towns that make up Page County. With modest beginnings, Luray contained several mercantile stores, two or three churches, and a population of about 500 by 1845, according to Howe's History of Virginia. It wasn't until March 21, 1871 by act of General Assembly, that the Town became "Incorporated", consisting of approximately 442 acres at that time. By the late 1800's, railroad expansion and tourism brought economic success to Page County and the Town of Luray. Over the next 100 years, the Town continued to increase in size and population. The last and most recent annexation of land occurred in 1985, when Luray added 1,220 acres for a total of 2,995 acres.
Today, the Town of Luray with its scenic views and natural wonders, offers visitors outdoor recreational activities, Spring & Summer events and concerts, dining & shopping, entertainment & museums and SO MUCH MORE. In addition, Luray is known as the gateway to the Shenandoah National Park connecting nature lovers and sightseers to the Skyline Drive which extends eastward along the Blue Ridge Mountains. The Town of Luray is also home to the internationally-known "Luray Caverns". With four seasons of adventure, Luray is the perfect year-round destination. LEARN MORE ABOUT LURAY